Applying to a Graduate Program

Prospective students need to apply to RISD through the Admissions Office, following the guidelines spelled out on the Graduate Admissions page. All master's degree programs at RISD require a full-time commitment – for one, two or three years, depending on the program you choose.

Graduate Program Directors in each department take a slightly different approach to vetting applicants. Many will encourage you to visit RISD, if you haven’t already done so. Some require on-site interviews, while others may suggest a Skype conversation instead. Larger departments that get hundreds of applicants base decisions largely on the materials you submit in support of your application.

Overall, Graduate Program Directors are looking for students who are committed to pursuing intense, focused work in a specific discipline but who are open and inquisitive and ready to be challenged. Certain departments have specific prerequisites in terms of education and experience, but in general applicants to RISD’s graduate programs must have earned a bachelor's degree or equivalent at a recognized institution of higher learning.

For more information on specific graduate programs, please contact the Graduate Program Director in that area.


Grad Program Directors

ARCHITECTURE
Hansy Better
Associate Professor
401 709-8545
hbetter@risd.edu

CERAMICS
Katy Schimert
Associate Professor
401 454-6230
kschimer@risd.edu

DIGITAL+MEDIA
Shona Kitchen
Assistant Professor
401 427-6912
skitchen@risd.edu

FURNITURE DESIGN
Lothar Windels
Associate Professor
401 427-6903
lwindels@risd.edu

GLASS
Rachel Berwick
Professor
401 454-6190
rberwick@risd.edu

GRAPHIC DESIGN
Bethany Johns
Professor
401 427-6956
bjohns@risd.edu

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN
Andy Law
Associate Professor
401 277-4846
alaw@risd.edu

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE
Markus Berger
Associate Professor
401 454-6272
mberger@risd.edu

JEWELRY+METALSMITHING
Timothy Veske-McMahon
Associate Professor
401 227-4894
tveskem@risd.edu

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE
Suzanne Mathew
Assistant Professor
401 454-6276
smathew@risd.edu

PAINTING
Kevin Zucker
Associate Professor
401 454-6158
kzucker@risd.edu

PHOTOGRAPHY
Brian Ulrich
Assistant Professor
401 454-6595
bulrich@risd.edu

PRINTMAKING
Andrew Raftery
Professor
401 454-6222
araftery@risd.edu

Sculpture
Heather Rowe
Assistant Professor
401 454-6190
hrowe@risd.edu

TLAD
Paul Sproll
Professor
401 454-6132
psproll@risd.edu

TEXTILES
Brooks Hagan
Associate Professor
401 709-8429
bhagan@risd.edu

Grad Studies Foreground Image 3
The Graduate Thesis Exhibition attracts large crowds during its two-week run at the RI Convention Center.