Applying to a Graduate Program

Prospective students need to apply to RISD through the Admissions Office, following the guidelines spelled out on the Graduate Admissions page. All master's degree programs at RISD require a full-time commitment – for one, two or three years, depending on the program you choose.

Graduate Program Directors in each department take a slightly different approach to vetting applicants. Many will encourage you to visit RISD, if you haven’t already done so. Some require on-site interviews, while others may suggest a Skype conversation instead. Larger departments that get hundreds of applicants base decisions largely on the materials you submit in support of your application.

Overall, Graduate Program Directors are looking for students who are committed to pursuing intense, focused work in a specific discipline but who are open and inquisitive and ready to be challenged. Certain departments have specific prerequisites in terms of education and experience, but in general applicants to RISD’s graduate programs must have earned a bachelor's degree or equivalent at a recognized institution of higher learning.

For more information on specific graduate programs, please contact the Graduate Program Director in that area.


Grad Program Directors

ARCHITECTURE:
Hansy Better
Associate Professor
hbetter@risd.edu
401 709-8545

CERAMICS:
Katy Schimert
Associate Professor
kschimer@risd.edu
401 454-6230

DIGITAL+MEDIA:
Shona Kitchen
Assistant Professor
skitchen@risd.edu
401 427-6912

FURNITURE DESIGN:
Chris Rose
Associate Professor
crose@risd.edu
401 4454-6683

GLASS:
Rachel Berwick
Professor
rberwick@risd.edu
401 454-6786

GRAPHIC DESIGN:
Bethany Johns
Professor
bjohns@risd.edu
401 427-6956

INDUSTRIAL DESIGN:
Andy Law
Associate Professor
alaw@risd.edu
401 277-4846

INTERIOR ARCHITECTURE:
Markus Berger
Associate Professor
mberger@risd.edu
401 454-6288

JEWELRY+METALSMITHING:
Tracy Steepy
Associate Professor
tsteepy@risd.edu
401 427-6953

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE:
Scheri Fultineer
Associate Professor
sfultine@risd.edu
401 454-6286

PAINTING:
Dennis Congdon
Professor
dcongdon@risd.edu
401 709-8521

PHOTOGRAPHY:
Steve Smith
Associate Professor
ssmith@risd.edu
401 277-4929

PRINTMAKING:
Brian Shure
Assistant Professor
bshure@risd.edu
401 454-6529

SCULPTURE:
Taylor Baldwin
Assistant Professor
tbaldwin@risd.edu
401 454-6631

TLAD:
Paul Sproll
Professor
psproll@risd.edu
401 454-6132

TEXTILES:
Mary Anne Friel
Assistant Professor
mfriel@risd.edu
401 709-8429

Grad Studies Foreground Image 4
There’s a proper place for every tool in this particular studio workspace.